Day 30 of 2017

First day off of the steroids and to sum it up, Laurie was in bed by 7 pm.

It was a hell of a day for her. I did not give her any insulin today and glad I didn’t since every time I checked her blood sugar she was in the low 100s. It was like she was fasting all day. Her temp was going up and down all day between her normal of 97.8 and 99.8. She just didn’t feel well which wasn’t surprising considering her blood sugar. Just after 7 she made a noise (her back was to me as I was in the kitchen) so I went over to check on her and she was crying. The right side pain she gets around or over her eye was the worse it has ever been. When it subsided a bit she said she wanted to go to bed. So I helped my wife to bed at just past 7 when she usually doesn’t go to bed till after 9. I had to wake her up at 8:30 to give her meds and boost. Now I am uneasy about taking my sleep meds because they knock me out for 4 hours. Normally I wouldn’t and would just make up the rest later but we have her preop assessment and special MRI tomorrow and will be gone for 11 or 12 hours. The one is at 3:30 and the other isn’t till 8 and we live an hour away so we will be staying there till both are done. It is going to be a very long day and with her not feeling well it is going to be a challenge for sure.

For those who may think I am nuts for saying we will be out of the house all day – it doesn’t mean the house will be empty all day :).

Positives for the day all revolve around the phone. We talked with Laurie’s mom and that is always a pleasure (seriously it is). I facetimed with my daughter who lives in Canada (that is where I am from hence the nickname can(adian)am(erican)behr). Laurie heard from her 3rd son who asked about visiting tomorrow but obliviously can’t. The nurse from the NO’s office returned my call and said her labs from Thursday looked good. I always find that amusing since when I look at them there are a lot of results in red that are either higher or lower then the norm. Laurie just finished her 3rd cycle of Temador on Saturday so that is not helping how she is feeling either.

Well time to try and wrap my head around sleeping.

Thank you for walking with me today.

Leave a Reply

