Triggers

The kind of triggers I am talking about here are the ones that trigger a memory. You know like smells, sounds, etc.

One of my triggers is the smell of lemon furniture polish. Every time I smell it I am taken back to an apartment we lived in when I was about 10 yrs old. It was in Whitehorse, Yukon. I remember a report I did on the kangaroo. It is like I am back there. There are some not so good memories of that place, I am just glad that the trigger brings back good ones.

Another trigger is the song Knock Three Times by Tony Orlando and Dawn (yes I am aging myself). Every time I hear that song it takes me back to another apartment we lived in (we moved a lot). I don’t remember how old I was or where it was. It does take me back to a specific Christmas in that apartment. I remember that me and my little sister could not sleep on Christmas eve we were so excited. I remember my mom giving us our stockings really early in the morning so that we would be occupied till everyone else got up. It is one of my “happy” memories.

So what triggers a memory for you? Is it a sound or maybe a smell. Whatever it is I hope it brings back fond memories.

Thank you for walking with me. Take care till we meet again.

Alex

Leave a Reply

